Pour Me Something Tall and Strong…Make it a Hurricane!

Well, I have thoroughly enjoyed my first two days of school.  Class was interrupted last week by none other than the infamous hurricane Irene.  We haven’t had a real, true hurricane hit this area since hurricane Isabel in 2006 (I have really awful memories of Isabel…my dog died in the middle of the storm).  I was in the middle of my first literary and cultural studies class (I had literally transferred in 5 minutes earlier) and everyone’s phones began to vibrate with the buzz of evacuation news.  It was a lost hope for the professor to have any kind of control over the class after we got the news, so she dismissed us early, and we began to finalize our evacuation plans.
I only live an hour away from William and Mary, so I wasn’t worried about how my parents were going to come get me.  My roommate, T, ended up coming home with me over the hurrication.  We had a pretty good time.  After we killed our minds with schoolwork, me with Beloved and T with Agamemnon, we lost power, and we were plunged into the depths of darkness and unnecessary heat.  That got old REAL fast.
T and I made the 10 minute trek to Suffolk to see my other friend, A, who I’ve been besties with since first grade.  A’s house never lost electricity, and she was living comfortably with good food and AC.  We went over Sunday and got to watch the VMAs and found out that BEYONCE IS PREGNANT.  Aka- the absolute best news of the century.  Her baby will potentially have more power than Oprah and Michelle Obama combined.  Words can’t even describe how excited I am about this pregnancy news.  This baby will be THE poster child of how a Hollywood baby should be raised.
Enough with the rants.  Now, moving on to a topic that is much more important to me; Sexual Assault.  I am in a group on campus called Every Two Minutes, and I just gave my first presentation to a group of Freshmen. This group is a part of the Health Outreach Peer Education group on campus, and we do programming to educate the campus on resources and signs of sexual assault.  Sexual assault is the silent problem on many college campuses across the nation.  Mostly when we think of sexual assault we think of rape and the “stranger in the bushes” scenerio that we see in tv shows like Law and Order: SVU and NCIS.  This is certainly not the case at all.  In fact, most sexual assaults are committed by someone who is close to the survivor.  I really just think being informed on how to be safe and how to help your friends be safe is the key to understanding sexual violence on campus.  It is NEVER your fault, and it can happen to anyone.  Okay…enough of that rant.
I truly think that I have found the right major for me.  After much searching (and i mean HEAPS and HEAPS of searching) I think I am completely happy and excited about pursuing a Women’s Studies Major with a Minor in Literary and Cultural Studies.  As you can probably assume from my rant in the last paragraph, I am very passionate about protection of sexuality and sexual safety.  I am a proponent of gay rights and human rights, and cultural activism.  Women’s Studies just seems like the right place to go with these passions.  My grandpa is scared to death that I’m a lesbian, which I know there’s nothing wrong with.  Oh well, he comes from another generation I suppose.  I am most certainly straight, but it does alarm me a little that there is such a stereotype associated with pursuing a Women’s Studies degree. I was previously worried that it would be seen as a less legitimate degree than something like neuroscience.  I think that a common misconception is that those who pursue a Women’s or Gender Studies degree are gay, activists who stage rowdy protests and sit ins and who are in your face about THEIR version of what is right and ideal.  While there may certainly be some people who have those feelings and characteristics, I don’t think that it’s right to put any one group of people in a box.  I consider myself to be an activist, meaning that I will stand up for what I believe is right.  However, that doesn’t necessarily mean that I’m going to throw paint on people in fur or picket Congress; that’s not my style.
I just want to be happy, I suppose, and I am extremely happy.  I promise my posts will be much more frequent now that I A) have power and B) have gotten into the swing of things.  I have some really big, new, exciting things going on in my life that I would love to share once I see how they’re going to play out.  đŸ™‚  Overall, I’m pumped about this year.  I think it’s already had a lot to offer, and I can’t wait to see where it takes me next.

Leave a Reply

