Click Your Heels

Well, today is the first day of the new semester.  I know that I have HORRIBLY negated to post AT ALL during Winter break, and I apologize (to the 4 people, including my mother, that actually read this).

I am taking classes this semester that are ONLY in my major (Women’s Studies) or my minor (Sociology). This is both exciting and horrifying, as it puts a lot of pressure on me to do well, but it also means that I will be taking classes that I am interested in.

After my new room mate and I got our dorm straight (which looks AMAZING if I do say so myself), and after I got all of my books in, William and Mary finally began to feel like home again.  After spending so much time (5 weeks) in my childhood home of Windsor, Virginia, it felt strange coming back to Williamsburg and it was hard to be able to call it home.  I think home is wherever you surround yourself with people who love you.  Simple as that.  I am so blessed and fortunate to have so many homes.

But on to the new stuff: NEW CLASSES, NEW YEAR!

Did any of you all make resolutions?  I made a few…they were pretty standard resolutions.  I resolved to be more healthy (which I am already doing well on, considering I ran stairs with Gabbie and Tracey yesterday…ouch).  I am also resolving to stop drinking soda.  This semester is going to be about extending myself to do my absolute best.  I made my personal goal of making the grades to be on the Dean’s List last semester.  It would be great if that happened again.  I always hate making resolutions or goals because I feel so shitty after I break them.  Inevitably I will probably drink some soda or not go to the gym when I should…and that’s okay.  But I will admit that it’s hard to be able to decipher between setbacks and failure.

I wish all of you a happy new year, and a great first day of classes.  It’s great to be back.

xxx,
Lizzie

Leave a Reply

