Delta Blues

Since this is my first post from the Mississippi Delta, I thought I’d fill everyone in on how things are going.

I love this job.

There, I said it.  I’ve been here for three days, and I love everything about this place.  I was worried about leaving camp this summer, but this job is so similar to being on summer staff.  We are helping children here on such a grand scale that it’s hard to stomach at times.

The second day we were here, the director of institute, Tim, shared some harrowing statistics with us.  The education gap in this country is outrageous.  Your circumstance and living situation should not determine your future success.  Teach for America is working to end that sort of inequality by training and placing teachers in these high risk rural and urban communities.

I can’t devote great amounts of time to this post, as I am in the middle of a ten hour shift, and I am about to be off of my break.  However, this is so gratifying and beautiful and perfect, and I am humbled and blessed to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

