spaces and places

This week has been beautiful.
I’ve been doing things that I only read about in books- going to fish markets, eating macaroons by fountains, editing papers with a cup of coffee in my hand, and writing books and books of poems.
In the all of the city’s beauty and charm, I’ve found myself missing the gentle hum of the country.  Maybe it’s moments of stillness that I’m missing.  I think it’s just home, really.  However, I am slowly making Washington, DC my home.  I am claiming some of the most beautiful spaces as my own: the bench at the edge of the Circle, the small book store with the Faulkner anthology.  I feel like these spaces are slowly becoming mine.
This life is monumental, and I can’t say how fortunate I am to be living it.  
The most current thing added to the ‘list of things I love,’ is the new Avett Brothers album.  I’ve been listening compulsively all day long.  I think my favorite line so far has been:”If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be scared to die.”  
My weekend in pictures:

Here’s to crayfish, new friends, and living life in a way that makes me unafraid to die,
Leave a Reply

